An ‘FFL’ is a federal firearms license. It is a license that is required for anyone or any business dealing in the purchasing or selling of firearms and includes anyone who repairs firearms.
Federal, state and local firearm laws are very complex. To legally protect yourself, allow the experts at Jim's Firearm Repair and Sales to assist you in your gun sale. You can sell your gun directly to us, and we will handle the gun sale to a new owner. Or, if you already have a buyer for your firearm, contact us and we can transfer it out of your name and hold it for the new owner, or transfer it to another ‘FFL’ holder in another state.
Yes, you can purchase your gun from any dealer. However, handguns purchased out-of-state must be transferred to your local ‘FFL’ dealer for your pick up. Residents of some states may be able to purchase long guns (rifles or shotguns) at dealers in other states without a specific transfer of ownership. The purchased gun must be legal in your state.
You can access the overview of RI Laws here: http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/title11/11-47/index.htm Gun laws vary from state to state. Be sure to check with your local state and government for the most accurate information. As a reference, you can CLICK HERE to visit the following link for state-by-state gun laws. A purchased gun must be legal in your state.
Selling your gun on consignment is a service we are very proud to offer. Please contact Jim or Jared directly for more specifics. Your gun will need to be brought to our store for a fair assessment of its value and what you can expect to receive when it sells. We are both flexible and competitive with our prices.
Each repair is as unique as each person’s health needs. Various models, changes to those models, parts availability and other factors specific to your firearm and its repair needs can cause seemingly simple repairs to become lengthy endeavors. As well, gunsmith backlog is another factor. But, rest assured we put all our effort and resources into making your repair a priority. On average, most repairs can be completed in 4-8 weeks. We recognize that many questions are customer specific, and situational. Please feel free to email, call, or fax with your question and we’ll be happy to answer it. The State of Rhode Island has some of the strictest firearm laws in the country and yet some of the “more lenient” within New England. We recommend that you refer to the State’s law index for the most specific firearm law outline; however, we can answer a few common questions here too.
Yes, Rhode Island currently has no restrictions on magazine capacity
•Long Gun – 18 years old •Handgun – 21 years old
Currently no, there are several house bills that are pending further study but currently there are no features of semi-automatic sporting rifles that are restricted in the State.
Family – If you are gifting a firearm to a family member, we recommend you come in for a background check (no charge) this way you are covered in some unforeseen event. However, parents can hand down guns to their children, as can other immediate family members so long as the receiver is allowed to own a firearm and it is permitted in the state they reside in. Friend – NO. You should never give or gift a firearm to a friend without a proper FFL transfer and background check.